How to undo a sent email in Gmail or recall an email in Gmail? This topic might be old for techies out there because this option was available in Gmail since 2009 by Gmail labs. But still few readers are unaware of this option in Gmail, and this could be valuable info for them.
Why Unsend or Recall an Email in Gmail?
- Have you ever regretted after sending an email to someone?
- Ever sent an important email to a wrong email address?
- Ever sent a personal mail to your boss?
I guess we all made this mistake once in our lifetime. Sending an email to the wrong person may bring you an embarrassment or even worse, imagine what will happen if you send your company confidential email to some unknown person? You may even get terminated from your company for that.
We always have to be careful while sending an email make sure to double check the email addresses properly for spelling mistakes as well as domain names. Fortunately if you are using Gmail there exist an option to UNDO a sent email but with certain limitations. Let us see how to undo a sent email in Gmail
- Best Free Fastest Web Browsers For PC
- Best Social Media Security Apps To Protection From Hackers
- 15 Amazing Computer Tricks And Tips Everyone Should Know
- 2 Easy Ways to Remove Phone Number from TrueCaller
- Ways To Earn Money Online Without Investment
Quick Guide To Recall an Email in Gmail in Easy Steps
Gmail offers a feature called “Gmail Undo Send” which allows you to undo or recall an email in Gmail within 30 seconds.
Recall an Email in Gmail in 1 minute
Login to your Gmail account using your email id and password and go to settings.
Click on the General tab.
After clicking settings, click the General tab.
‘Undo Send’ option.
You will find the ‘Undo Send’ option. Click on the ‘enable Undo Send option’.
Click the cancellation period.
You will require to click the cancellation period which ranges from 5-30 seconds.
Click on save changes.
Click on save changes. After this, you will be able to use the undo send feature on Gmail.
Now, when you send the email, you will see undo option on the left-hand bottom of the screen.
Recall your email.
After hitting the undo button within the time span chosen by you, you can recall your email, and you will view the message ‘sending undone’.
Detailed Guide To Recall an Email in Gmail
Gmail’s Undo Send feature only delays the email — it doesn’t actually recall accidental messages sent to others. In other words, if you set the Send Cancellation Period to 30 seconds, Gmail doesn’t actually send the message until 30 seconds after you click Send. After that, there’s nothing you can do but wait for the response.
Step 1: Log in to Your Gmail
Once you logged in you can see the Settings gear icon on the top right-hand side corner of your Gmail Account. Once you click the settings gear icon, you can see the See all settings option like in the below image.
Step 2: Personalize Your Recall an Email Period
Under the General tab, scroll down to Undo Send. Click the drop-down menu and select whether you want the “Undo Send” option to appear for 5, 10, 20, or 30 seconds after you hit send.
Note: By default after you enable this option this will appear only for 5 seconds, but you can extend this up to 30 seconds.How to Unsend or Recall an Email in Gmail
(Make sure you’re in the “General” settings tab.)
Step 3: Save Settings
Scroll to the bottom and click Save Changes. When you send an email, an Undo button will appear on the bottom left. Click Undo, and the email will return as a draft for you to continue editing.
How to recall an email in Gmail for Android or iOS
If you’re using Gmail on a mobile device, the process is pretty much the same. Although you will need to use your desktop to adjust the settings for the “Undo” button, this button will still show up when you use a mobile device to send emails.
In the Gmail mobile app, you’ll see the “Undo” button at the bottom of the screen, like this:
If you want to be extra cautious with your email, “Confirm before sending” is still available on Android (but not iOS).
To enable it in the Android Gmail app, click on the hamburger icon, scroll to the bottom of the left pane, and tap Settings. At the Settings screen, tap General settings. Scroll to the bottom of the screen and tap on the checkmark next to “Confirm before sending” to enable the feature.
Now compose and try to send a new email. A message pops up asking if you want to send the message. Tap OK to send it or Cancel to stop it. If you cancel it, you then have a chance to review the message and make any changes before you attempt to resend it.
FAQ – Ways to Unsend or Recall an Email in Gmail
Does deleting an email Unsend it?
Deleting an email from your device does not remove it from the sender’s device at all. You have no control over the other person’s inbox. What’s in there remains there, no matter what you do on your own account.
Can I delete a sent email before it is read Gmail?
The Undo send function is a default feature of Gmail. After you send an email in Gmail, you’ll see the undo option pop up on the bottom left of your screen. If you don’t click in time, or if you click View message or otherwise navigate away, you’ll lose your chance to unsend the email.
I want to recall an email, and I didn’t have this option enabled. What can I do?
You cannot do anything in this case, and the message has been sent and there is nothing you can do to get that message back.
We hope you found this helpful, for questions and comments, don’t hesitate to leave them below and I will be more than happy to respond.